For weeks I have been lucky enough to be staying near the ocean. One house back from the beach to be exact. It was not a luxury unappreciated; from walks along the water’s edge to listening to the waves from my bed at night it was an experience I savoured. They say all good things must come to an end though and so it goes that three nights ago was my last night at the beach house. 

I lay in bed in the early hours of the morning listening to the sound of the waves rolling in; the ocean kissing the shore. I found myself thinking about all the places I have lived. That is a lot of places, lovely people. Lots of different houses both during my childhood and as an adult. On my last night in the beach house I lay there and let the anxiety of the unknown wash over me. I felt the sadness of leaving the beach, with the acknowledgement that being there had soothed my soul. But the new day dawned, as they always do and my time at the beach house came to an end. 

So many things have happened over the last couple of months. 2016 has been a huge year and we are not even a third of the way into it. I woke this morning to the news Prince had died and felt the metaphorical sands shift, once again, under my feet. So much change. So much happening. Throughout it all I am lucky to have good people in my life. Friends who have travelled far with me and those who have just connected. I am blessed to have known great kindness and I feel a deep responsibility to keep paying that kindness forward. 

  
Someone thanked me this week, for checking in with them during a difficult time and for being happy for them when their situation resolved. It was someone I don’t know very well but the reality is that it cost me nothing. Two emails and a few kind words. Just before Easter a young guy asked if I had any change. He had planned to walk home but it looked like rain and he didn’t want the fluffy bunny rabbit he had bought to get wet. I only had a dollar in change but I gave him the dollar and his face lit up like a Christmas tree as he thanked me profusely. When the time came for him to get off the bus he said ‘Hey, thanks again’ but I felt like he’d brightened my day so we broke about even in my book. 

I offered to take some photos for a friend of mine and she invited me to her son’s first birthday party to take a few snaps of the big event. My friend and her gorgeous boy were the only two people at the party I had met before and as more and more guests wandered in I could feel my chest tighten as my social anxiety reared it’s ugly head. I took my camera from it’s case and felt the weight of it in my hands and the memories associated with it. It was the first time I had used it in weeks and it felt good to be doing something I loved. Especially at such a happy celebration. Earlier this week my friend contacted me to tell me how much she loved the photos and, just like that, my investment of time and effort was repayed ten fold. 

  
Just be kind to each other. That is all we have to do to make the world a better place. In my life and in the last few weeks I have known huge kindnesses. Letting people be kind to you gives them something too. It’s a win-win, really. It doesn’t have to be a huge gesture. A smile in an elevator can change someone’s day. A five minute phone call can change someone’s life. Sometimes you will never know the difference you made. Sometimes there is no acknowledgement. Sometimes there’s just the warm glow inside from knowing you did a good thing. And that is more than enough. 

Just be kind to each other. Fight the good fight, one act of kindness at a time. 

Safe onward travel x 

  

Comments on: "YOU AND I, WE’RE PIONEERS. " (4)

  1. The smallest things do make a big difference – partly because they are unexpected, partly because they are like fireflies of surprise smiles. And, yes, I love the ocean, too. The heartbeat of our earth.

  2. I was just reading an article the other day about a study that showed people who perform good deeds for others are happier. Especially when there are several good deeds performed in a relatively short amount of time. They don’t have to be anything big – just small things like you did – checking in with a friend, letting someone go in front of you at the grocery store, offering to help carry a bulky load – that sort of thing. It’s something I need to do more of – a lot of time, I’m so concerned with what is going on in my life, I fail to notice others.

    • kate4samh said:

      When I feel overwhelmed looking outside of myself somehow makes my own issues smaller – so I guess I agree with your article 😊 It’s not always easy though x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

