HAPPY BIRTHDAY SWEET SIXTEEN.

It was awe-inspiring to know you. It seemed, and I still believe, that you can do anything you set your mind to. Whether it is academic, sports related or artistic – you can do it all. I never was interested in sports and I did pretty well at school. I can throw a few words together and take a decent photograph. The talent of yours I was actually envious of was your drawing ability. Stick figures are more my speed but you can really draw! I wish I could do that. It’s magic.

I had asked Son Number Two to make sure you still liked chocolate oranges before Christmas and he told me he had, and you did. He hadn’t really, he was just certain and the look on your face when you opened the chocolate orange on Christmas Day was priceless because you were so very surprised. It is by far my favourite photograph from that day. A lot of the time I felt like I got things wrong but I know I got that right at least. Thanks for giving Son Number Two your friendship. That is gold.

Thanks for the times you let me help you, like making the Butterbeer for that economics thing. Thanks for the times you helped me, like blowing up the air bed. I wish we could have known each other better. I know there’s lots you didn’t get to find out about me and I would have really liked to know more about you. I feel lucky though, to have known you at all.

I recently had my hair trimmed at that place I got your hair straightened that time and the girl who cut it was the double of Amy Pond. Seriously. I COULD NOT BELIEVE HOW MUCH SHE LOOKED LIKE HER! I was going to ask her for a photo except she caught me staring at her in the mirror three times so I figured I looked weird enough. It’s times like that that I miss you most.

Here’s hoping you had the best birthday and that the next twelve months bring all that you wish for! And more every single year after that.

Best wishes always x

p.s. I can’t believe Christopher Eccleston is 51 years old today! How cool!

IMG_5144

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

