THAT’S THE WAY LOVE GOES.

IMG_5090

This post is dedicated to one little Chicken and the people that she loves.

After two bloody exhausting days I thought I’d check in here with you before heading once more unto the breach, dear friends. If I wasn’t so exhausted I would find it fascinating that physically I feel battered and bruised. Fascinating because it is a reflection of my emotional state rather than physical injury. I’ll save being fascinated until I get through today though, I just don’t have the energy.

I was talking to the Lovely Fiancée just before embarking on my epic journey across the continent. Someone very close to her is not in good shape and amongst all the concern and good wishes surrounding her loved one came the rather horrific news that his partner has said if he doesn’t wake up the same person that he was prior to the current situation she will walk away.

The Lovely Fiancée was appalled, as am I. She said with passion that should anything happen to her other half she wouldn’t care how they woke up, just so long as they did. She asked ‘if you really loved someone before they went to sleep then how could you not love them after they woke up?’ She said that she would happily care for her other half if he couldn’t for himself because THAT’S WHAT LOVE IS. She is right, that is what love is. For better, for worse. For richer, for poorer. In sickness and in health. Forsaking all others. That’s what love is.

Love is someone who looks at you like the sun shines out of you even on a day you feel hideous.

Love is those who stick with you, no matter what.

Love is acceptance of who you are in all your perfect imperfection and celebration of your individuality.

Love is driving for hours in hideous traffic with a five month old baby to spend half an hour with someone you’ve not seen in a decade.

Love is coming when someone calls.

Love is answering the phone in the first place!

Love is believing in someone when they don’t believe in themselves.

Love is faded newspaper clippings and song lyrics.

Love is going above and beyond without hesitation.

Love is Nutella wrapped in pink tissue paper.

IMG_5097-0

Smart girl, that Katharine. Classy too.

IMG_5098

Even Forrest Gump said “I may not be a smart man but I know what love is”.

I, too, am lucky enough to know what love is. As crappy as I feel today I have come this far and can take the next step because of those who love me. That means more than words can say.

Life is short. Safe onward travel x

Comments on: "THAT’S THE WAY LOVE GOES." (5)

  1. Yes, love is. I am a primary caregiver for my husband who has vascular dementia. After barely surviving a battle with the flu during the holidays, he is now in a hospice program. At home. With me. Where I promised he would be.

    • I read something today which is so true “Infatuation is when you find someone who is absolutely perfect. Love is when you realise they aren’t and it doesn’t matter!”. I can’t imagine it’s easy Victoria but your commitment is real and beautiful. Thank you for sharing. Sending love x

  2. You understand, profoundly, what love is, and that is one of the things which is most valuable about you in my eyes. You seem to get more than your share of knocks, which seems wrong and unfair to me, but, however you feel, for the love of your kids and those who care about you, you do get up and have another go. Look in the mirror and you will see one of the most impressive people it has been my pleasure to get to know, however indirectly 🙂

    • Looking in the mirror is not really my thing 🙂 but I appreciate the sentiment and the kind words, thank you x

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

