I don’t give up easily. I don’t know if it is stubbornness or stupidity but I don’t give up easily. Usually I feel like there is something you can do to change your circumstances, even if it is just an attitude adjustment. I subscribe to accepting the things you cannot change, changing those you can and knowing the difference. And I think, absolutely, that if you are going to bother to stick around in this life then living is what it is about. Not just surviving. 

Sometimes living means letting go of the things that do not serve you. I read a quote today from Soren Kierkegaard who said ‘There are two ways to be fooled. One is to believe what isn’t true. The other is to refuse to believe what is true’. I’ve been guilty of both in my life so I cannot disagree with him. I think he is on the money. Sometimes letting go isn’t giving up, it is moving on. Sometimes, in fact, it is the only way to move on. 

A very, very dear friend of mine posted on facebook recently – “Is it too soon for me to be using the I’m dying routine?”. And to him I’d like to say, yes, it is too soon. It is far too soon for so very many reasons. Because we all are dying really, each minute, even those of us blissfully unaware but this guy couldn’t be routine if he tried. While you can still get into a onesie and be ignited by music and care about blueberries in brownies then you are still very much living. And that is what you should keep doing, right up until you can’t. And that applies to all of us. 

Safe onward travel x 

al-inspiring-quote-on-living-life-to-the-fullest

Comments on: "YOU GOTTA KNOW WHEN TO FOLD THEM." (1)

  1. Lines of poetry I love from Dylan Thomas read, “Rage rage against the dying of the light. Do not go quietly into that dark night” which no one could accuse him of to be fair, though laying of the whisky chasers might have extended his a little !

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

