You can’t go back, people, so that leaves forward or standing still and I don’t do standing still. 

Image

 

“Not all those who wander are lost” – J.R.R. Tolkein “But we are free” – Kate.

As you know, I’m a mad fan of the internet. And today I’d like to express my appreciation for facebook in particular. It has brought many friends closer and brought new ones into my life. As much as it has it’s pitfalls and flaws I embrace it. There is not a day I am not grateful for the gifts it brings. There’s lots of negative stuff written about facebook and privacy issues, particularly in regards to employment. No argument from me, just another perspective. 

How I WISH my Daughter Number One had been around to have facebook. How I wish I could now still look at her photo’s, photo’s friends may have tagged her in, music and other links she shared, what books she read, the statuses she posted. How I wish she’d had Instagram and Twitter – all of it. These are the ways I stay connected to her friends and I watch their lives and learn of their passions and I love it. 

After Daughter Number One died her friends put together copies of a few of those questionnaire type email things that do the rounds, that my Daughter had actually filled in. I still read them. She typed those answers. She liked that song. And it seems so simple. Such a nothing thing but it’s HUGE to me. It’s a piece of her. It’s evidence she was here. I can see her. I can hear her. Hey, it’s all I’ve got and I’m grateful for it. Like this guy here

Which brings me to my next point. There is so little that really matters at the end of the day. If your family and friends, your children and lovers are happy and healthy and safe; if you love and are loved in return; then you are wealthy beyond measure. As the great philosopher Bon Jovi said ‘We’ve got to hold on to what we’ve got, it doesn’t make a difference if we make it or not. We’ve got each other and that’s a lot”.

It’s everything actually.

 

Today facebook brought me this gift. How beautiful is that? 

 

Comments on: "BEAUTIFUL GIRL STAY WITH ME." (5)

  1. christine2456 said:

    Thank you Kate. Amazingly beautiful, insightful, sad, enlightening reading – as always.

  2. That is beautiful. One of the truly amazing things about the human spirit is to take the worst that life can manage and turn it into something that strengthens the self and others. You do that, Kate. You express things that others cannot and through that expression comes healing.

  3. I love the last paragraph, and believe it to. Beautifully and sincerely expressed as always

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

