One other thing the lovely love stories I wrote about here have in common is that they both involved people willing to put themselves out there. All good love stories have that in common. In fact I’d go as far as saying all good stories, period, involve a willingness to extend oneself. To leave yourself open to new experiences, new ideas, new people.

I’ve spoken before about the fact that it is hard work. Leaving yourself open new experiences, new ideas and new people means leaving yourself open to the ‘slings and arrows of outrageous fortune’. In the words of the famous philosophers The Goo Goo Dolls “You bleed just to know you’re alive”. On the nights I can sleep I wake from nightmares. I’m in a car being driven at high speed and I’m screaming to PLEASE SLOW DOWN! PLEASE STOP! BECAUSE DAUGHTER NUMBER TWO IS IN THE CAR! And all the while her sister’s voice echoes in my head ‘Please Dad! Please Dad! Please Dad! And on days like that the Love of My Life accelerating in traffic is enough to have my heart racing and head pounding as fear twists my insides. Add those days to the ones where I put the soundtrack to Flashdance on to kick start my morning and this song literally brings me to my knees, crying in the kitchen. And still life goes on.

I have previously spoken of my knights, my friends, who are all very dear to me and without whom I would not be where I am today. I had the absolute pleasure last week of connecting with a few of them, in different ways. The lovely long phone conversation I had with one was a definite highpoint of my week. Another posted this on facebook for me:

1382023_676867879037395_337029760_n

Today we were lucky enough to spend a few hours with some treasured friends. If you can make me laugh, challenge me or teach me something – preferably all three! – you’ll find me hard to get rid of! Just ask the Love of my Life! But these are all experiences I’ve had and relationships I sustain because I leave myself open to them. It’s not easy, but it’s worth it!

1622800_414674385335070_419884056_n

Safe onward travel x

I’ll Be Here Where The Heart Is”

It’s the song that just keeps playing on the radio
And you know I haven’t seen you for a while
I lie awake at night and wonder how you are
And I wish that I could see you again

Is it fate or is it luck that brings us back
Or is it just a common point of view?
Time has put a spell on you, you never seem to change
And I wish that I could see you again

I’ll be here where the heart
When the dreams we’ve been after all come true
You will find me here where the heart is
I’ll wait for you, I’ll wait for you

It’s the light that just keeps shining day after day
When other loves have come and gone
I’ll be here with open arms to take you in
And I wish that I could see you here again

But I’ll be here where the heart
When the dreams we’ve been after all come true
You will find me here where the heart is
I’ll wait for you, I’ll wait for you

And in between when I need to see you again
All I have to do is close my eyes
Oh the picture’s coming in my friend
I’ll hold you again but until then

I’ll be here where the heart is
When the dreams we’ve been after all come true
You will find me here where the heart is
I’ll wait for you, I’ll wait for you

I’ll still be here where the heart is
When the dreams we’ve been after all come true
You will find me here where the heart is
I’ll wait for you, I’ll wait for you

I’ll still be here where the heart is
When the dreams we’ve been after all come true
You will find me here where the heart is
I’ll wait for you, I’ll wait for you

I’ll still be here where the heart is

Songwriters
Hitchings, Duane S / Krampf, Craig James / Carnes, Kim

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

