I read a great post here after I googled ‘PTSD disconnected.’ I know that it is a marker of the PTSD, that out of step, discombobulated, intense loneliness. Hell, it’s a universally human thing, I think, if you don’t talk degrees. Carl Jung said:

“Loneliness does not come from having no people about one, but from being unable to communicate the things that seem important to oneself” 

There’s not much I can disagree with there. If you don’t feel heard or understood then you feel isolated. Simple. All of us need that connection to others. There’s plenty of research to back that up. Read some stuff on Romanian orphans and failure to thrive if you are interested.

To me it seems simple. We just want someone to say ‘I see you’, to say ‘I hear you’, to know we are not alone. There are situations you find yourself in that no one can really understand and even if they could you really wouldn’t want them to. To have someone really hear you though, that is everything.

And it really doesn’t seem like too much to ask of each other, does it?

Comments on: "GROUND CONTROL TO MAJOR TOM, YOUR CIRCUIT’S DEAD, THERE’S SOMETHING WRONG!" (5)

  1. In native African tongues a common greeting is, “I see you.” It is an acknowledgement of presence, of the right to be recognized and heard. There is no loneliness as deep as that in the presence of others.

  2. Sadly, I think I understand this quite well

  3. Kate- I just found this blog today. I understand everything you say, we lost our 24 year-old son suddenly and unexpectedly less than eight weeks ago. Someone who knows about these things told us we were in PTS just a few days after his death. So true. I am a bit calmer now, but even though we have a tremendously supportive community of friends, when I am by myself, I feel so totally alone. Disconnected from the rest of the world. I am working on it daily, as you know it is a project we will work on for the rest of our lives now. Be well. If you want to check out some of my observations, please visit my blog at infinitefountain.com

    Thanks for taking the chance and your willingness to connect. Stay in touch. Be well.

    • Firstly, most pressingly, I am so very very sorry for your loss. That my words managed to reach you and that you took the time to let me know is meaningful to me, thank you. I will, indeed, visit your blog.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

