I was traveling home with some groceries last night, on dusk. As the car I was traveling in slowed to turn into the street I know by heart, it lit up the street sign and I smiled. How many times have I written that name? Before I knew this street. After. How can a simple street name mean so much? But it does. Last night I looked at the illuminated street sign and felt myself relax. All roads lead to Rome.

I remember the first time I saw that sign. Illuminated by headlights that night as well, but much later in the evening. Nearing midnight and so windy. The weather cold. And I’d come such a long way, with my little Daughter Number Two, and travelled for a long time – all of my life, really. I saw that street sign and knew that my journey was almost at an end. I was equal parts relief and anxiety.

In truth, with hindsight, I knew nothing. For if I had I’d have known the journey was just beginning.

Comments on: "We’ll Take a Cup of Kindness Yet." (9)

  1. I do remember that feeling and I’m pleased you got to enjoy it. Often the simplest emotions seem to be the best. Connecting with the familiar, friends and family. Lovely.

    • kate4samh said:

      What, exactly, do you remember?

      • Ok, now I’m laughing. Returning to a place with lots of memories and people who care about me. How nice that felt. Have I got the wrong end of the stick. Would not be the first time of course.

      • kate4samh said:

        I love that you are laughing! I was after specifics. I’m the nosey type 🙂

      • No probs about that at all. I’ll be writing you an email and flesh out some details if you wish. As someone clever might have said.” I have everything to offer but advice”

      • kate4samh said:

        Oh the suspense!

      • Bloody hell. Send me an email with any question you like, except any regarding my hairstyle ( and yes I have a full head of hair ), and I will attempt to answer it, or gulp in the attempt

      • kate4samh said:

        I did send you an email. With questions. I started with the weather, to lull you into a false sense of security. Now I am thinking about your hair. Congratulations on keeping it. Does this place you at an age where it could go either way? Or are you reassuring me you are neither a skinhead nor a Buddhist monk? Very adventurous to give me such scope.

      • I’ve now sent you one Full of real information, but no recipes.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

