I’m a real Wild Child.

Yesterday my Friend and I dropped Daughter Number Two at her birthday party. On the way back the ocean was wild, with big, crashing waves that had eaten up the beach. It was fantastic and we stopped and soaked up the electric atmosphere, watching as the water danced a spectacular dance, listening to the song it sang.

The sea really does speak to me; of power and potential. It is stunning in it’s untamed beauty. Looking at it one cannot really fathom the ocean’s reach and depth, all we see from the beach is the surface. To explore closer we have to wade in. Get our feet wet. Risk getting wiped out.

My Nana’s ashes were interred today. I have yet to donate the bags of her clothes to charity. I will before I leave here. But I went out today and looked at them; the three bags of my Nana’s clothes, the half bag of photo’s and knick knacks. Regular readers will know that thanks to the Alzheimer’s we had a head start on disassembling my Nana’s life. There was only so much she could bring with her into the Aged Care Facility. It was confronting all the same, to look at those few worldly possessions. There is a sense of being orphaned. Of loosening of ties and, of course, of letting go.

I looked out into the ocean and it’s spirit excited me. I looked at the ‘Danger’ sign and thought ‘Bring it on!’. Perspective is a funny thing. Once the worst has happened nothing ever can be that bad again. I’ve said it before and I will say it again, there is something liberating in that.

To thine own self be true; the truth shall set you free x

20130416-000002.jpg

Comments on: "I’m a real Wild Child." (2)

  1. vickyfinch said:

    “Once the worst has happened nothing ever can be that bad again. I’ve said it before and I will say it again, there is something liberating in that.”

    Very liberating. For me, it means I have they ability to pick myself up, dust myself off, and keep going. X

    • kate4samh said:

      Hey you, thanks for the love. I tried to leave a comment for you the other day for you but on my phone it wasn’t happening 😦 Great to hear from you, thank you. Love to you xxxooo

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

