My Way

‘Have you planned a funeral before?’

‘Yes’.

The last time I planned a funeral I sat alone. I answered the questions. I looked at the coffins. I did it alone. For my Nana, I have the luxury of being able to plan her funeral with my sister. Except it’s an awfully long drive from my sister’s home to here with a sick toddler and she was running late. So, I sat in the room with the funeral director, alone.

‘Have you planned a funeral before?’

‘Yes’.

Finally my sister arrived and it was better then. It was infinitely better for me and I hope my presence was a comfort to her. We answered the questions as best we could, debated music and coffins. We laughed and cried and laughed some more.

Because tomorrow couldn’t be any harder (sigh) my sister decided on Frank Sinatra’s ‘My Way’. I didn’t argue. It’s all pain. And truly, it is fitting. Nana really did do it her way. Who knows? Maybe I will be able to wrap myself in the familiarity of the song and find some comfort there.

Stranger things have happened.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

