We find a place for what we lose. Although we know that after such a loss the acute stage of mourning will subside, we also know that we shall remain inconsolable and will never find a substitute. No matter what may fill the gap, even if it be filled completely, it nevertheless remains something else”.        — Sigmund Freud

A friend sent me this quote. I like it. After almost nine years I’m thinking perhaps Siggy knew his stuff. On this at least. You can debate his other stuff at your leisure and get back to me.

Another quote for you, from another friend; “Not every day is PTSD day!” And not a truer word was spoken although some days it remains an uphill battle. Our experiences undeniably mould who we are to a certain extent, but the aim of my game is to not let myself be defined by them. I read this post from Lori, in which she talks about her own experiences with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder. Once again it echoed closely my own. I emailed the link to several people. “Look at THIS! THIS is how I feel!”.

But people are complicated, man. Just as I don’t want to define myself by PTSD or depression or traumatic events in my life nor do I want others defining me that way either. If I’m upset about something it’s not necessarily because of the diagnosis’ I have. My perceptions and reactions may be a bit out of whack but that doesn’t automatically nullify any thought or emotion I, or anyone else with mental health issues, has. Even if my reaction may be out of proportion that doesn’t mean it has no basis. I don’t use my issues as a get out of jail free card, or feel they entitle me to bad behaviour, just that sometimes I might need more understanding. But you know what? Sometimes EVERYONE needs more understanding. EVERYBODY has their off days. Not just us card-carrying members of the crazy club.

I’m not perfect but neither is anyone else. I should cut myself a break sometime and remember that.

“I’m selfish, impatient and a little insecure. I make mistakes, I am out of control and at times hard to handle. But if you can’t handle me at my worst, then you sure as hell don’t deserve me at my best.”  ―    Marilyn Monroe

Comments on: "Like a Candle In the Wind" (2)

  1. ‘I’m not perfect but neither is anyone else.’ that! Exactly that. Lori’s post is a perfect descriptor of what goes on inside my brain.

    And I get what you’re saying about not wanting your diagnosis to define you. But it would be nice if it allowed people to be a little more empathetic to how we may react in certain situations. No it’s not a get out of jail free card, but there is a biological valid reason that needs to be taken into account.

  2. kate4samh said:

    Sure, if it could be used for good instead of evil lol! Thanks for reading and commenting Vic ❤

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

