What a day yesterday was in my virtual world. A friend had divorce papers served in front of his two young daughters and lamented the same on his Facebook page. It made me sad for him, so raw was his pain. It was more painful still when one of his f.b. friends transcribed the lyrics to ‘The First Cut is the Deepest’ in the comments under his status. I mean Ack!! Seriously? Apparently. I love good lyrics as much as the next girl, but Wow! I’m sure his friend’s heart was in the right place though, even if it had obviously been broken before. A young friend of mine posted underwear shots of herself, before and after she’d had her baby, as a realistic view of what happens to your body in pregnancy. Very brave of her, but it made me glad I only have forty odd f.b. friends, and made me wonder about her two hundred plus.

It made me think about the things we put out into the universe – not just the twitterverse, or Facebook or the virtual world but in real life as well. How little control we have over what we put out there, once we’ve put it out. How things take on a life of their own, and go in directions we may not foresee. It’s almost giving me vertigo just thinking about it. There is inherent risk in putting yourself out there. Of being rejected, or misunderstood, or ridiculed. There’s always the risk of making mistakes, of stuffing up, so risking shame and regret and sorrow as well. It could be paralyzing if I let it.

In the words of Dr. Seuss;  ‘So be sure  when you step, step with care and great tact, and remember that life’s a great balancing act.’ I may not always get it right, but I’ll always try. That’s really all any of us can give, at the end of the day, the best that we can. 

When I left my friend he was planning to go fishing today. Good for him! I recognise an optimist when I see one!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

