Me, myself, I.

Oh life! When will you stop playing practical jokes at my expense? Although my internet dating profiles are currently hidden I had an email today from someone who’d ‘winked’ at me a couple of weeks ago. On one popular site it’s ‘wink’ and on another it’s ‘kiss’. Basically it’s a way for people to express an interest without actually expending any effort or outlaying any cash. Kind of like ‘Yeah, your profile looks ok, but I’m too broke or stingy to pay for contact credits, so I’ll hope you are desperate enough to make the effort for me.’ That kind of thing. Totally flattering. Anyway, me being me before I got jack of the whole thing, had responded with a polite email.

Fast forward two weeks and I get an email this morning. IN WHICH HE TALKS ABOUT HIMSELF IN THE THIRD PERSON. OMG. Besides the third person thing- like that’s not enough- he went on to ask if I could please send some photo’s and remind him of my profile name so he could keep track of who he was talking to. Uh huh. Way to make a girl feel special! Being the completely jaded cynic I am I sent back a sharply worded response.

I’m not really a jaded cynic. Which is why my profile’s are staying hidden for now. I just don’t have the armour to protect myself from this kind of thing. It’s not just the creepy guys or the obvious scammers that I’m finding so hard to bear. It’s the nice guys who just aren’t my type that I have trouble dealing with. Not that I believe any one is living or dying by my responses but it’s a brave thing to put yourself out there, even to that extent. It’s a hopeful thing, and I don’t like to be the one taking that little spark of hope and crushing it. I’ve accomplished what I set out to do,  to broaden my social circle and remind myself that there are other fish in the sea, so that’s enough for me. Which may be unfortunate as far as material for this blog goes but anyway.

I’ve established that on the balance of probabilitites it’s unlikely I will lack company if I want it. I’ve also well and truly established that I am no longer an ‘any port in a storm’ girl. I do like a good adventure though.

Mr Third Person answered my email. Turns out he’s just a genuine guy hiding behind bravado. He gets points for not bailing at the first challenge. He also gets another email. So there life, this time the joke’s on you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

