The final countdown…

Actually it won’t be the final countdown but it is the final leg of this countdown. Amazingly. It felt like it would never happen but here we are post hospital visit with Son Number One and on the downhill run with seven sleeps left until the Current Person of Interest arrives. I can’t believe it really!! In a week’s time he will be here!

 

I feel like I am doing really well this week. I have walked a little more, eaten a little less, eaten a little better, stood up for myself more, looked after myself more. I am working really hard at putting in some boundries with Baby Daddy because I don’t want it to get to the stage that we can’t even be in the same room together. The services I have in place for the boys are really working so far with potential to be even more helpful as time progresses. Plus I survived the hospital visit.

 

Surviving the hospital visit was no mean feat for me. Children’s hospitals are really not my idea of a fun place to hang out. This time I felt positively fraudulent as I continously counted my blessings that we were only there for tests. I mean Son Number One has serious chronic conditions that impact his life in many ways large and small but he is not  life threateningly  ill, and for that I am truly thankful. To be in such close quarters with children suffering, however stoicly, and their drawn, wan parents just makes my heart ache. It is for the same reason that I cannot watch the news. I just can’t bear it. 

 

Combined with the anxiety of being apart from Son Number Two, which was not dulled by his sobbing phone call on the second night we were there, and the lack of sleep, by the time we were discharged I could not leave fast enough. We had to travel interstate for theses tests as that was the hospital closest to us and I have to say that we were treated admirably. No complaints about the service, it’s just there’s no place like home.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

