My Son Number One is fifteen years old today. It hardly seems possible. I’m sure it was only yesterday I was seventeen myself? Son Number One towers over me and wears men’s size 12 shoes. He looks even older than  the fifteen years old he is. Each day is a struggle for him as he faces life with diagnoses of Asperger’s Syndrome, epilepsy that has been uncontrolled for over two years now and ADHD. Son Number One looks like a young man but still needs to grow into his body. It can be difficult when others expect more of him than he is capable of. It can be difficult when he is aware he is different to others his age. For his birthday he has asked me to make him a red lego brick cake. I have given it my best shot and will let you know his reaction in a later post.

 

Number One Son is now older than his elder sister was when she died. This time six years ago Daughter Number One was helping me decorate a Thomas the Tank Engine cake for his birthday. Ten days later she died. As hard as I try I can’t shake that association.

 

My head is aching and once again I have to marvel at fate’s perverse sense of humour. We awoke to wild weather. I packed the boys off to school and bravely set out with my newly two year old to tackle last minute birthday tasks. By 9.45am I’d been informed the schools were closing, so I had to drop everything, take a taxi trip to two schools, pick up two boys and then go back to the shopping centre to continue with what needed to be done.

 

I was very disappointed for Son Number One as I’d organised a pizza party for his class to celebrate his birthday which naturally had to be postponed. He seemed to take it in his stride but it still sucked. I managed to drop and lose $30 in my travels which also sucked.

 

Anyhow, we finished everything that needed to be done and headed for the safety of home. Within half an hour of walking in the door the phone rang. It was a friend of Son Number Two, a rather unfortunate boy to whom I have an almost allergic reaction. He wanted to come over and play. HELL NO! I know my limits and this would have pushed me over the edge. No sooner had I hung up than another of Son Number Two’s friends was at the door wanting to come over. I succumbed to what was seeming like the inevitable, and as this boy is quiet and low maintenance definitely the lesser or two evils. I then lamented my obvious stupidity in not having thought to pack my kids off to friends house’s.

 

I am now finishing this post the next day as the electricty kept going on and off yesterday. After the forth time I admitted defeat. We have awoken today to grey skies with sunshine peeping through. The massive winds have stilled. I fell asleep to howling winds and lashing rain. The house sounded like it might blow away and I was hoping my windows would hold. I woke in the early hours of the morning and was actually disorientated by the quiet. The schools are again closed today, because there is much to clean up.

 

My head is still aching and after another night of nightmares I am fairly shattered. This has been such a busy week and I have felt overwhelmed. The constant low grade headache is a fairly sure sign I am overloaded. The rain has started to fall again and the sun is back in hiding.

 

As I said the electricity was patchy last night. I am hugely grateful we didn’t lose it completely!! Because of the weather the local pizza place was not doing deliveries. As I don’t drive this meant no pizza for the birthday boy at all!! We made the best of it though and I think he still had a good day. Oh! And he loved his cake!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

